Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of being a member of a large family

In a few years, the large family will be considered a thing of the past; today it is no longer a status symbol. A large family is different from a joint family of a few decades ago. A large family may consist of the father, the mother and four or more children. A small family which, because of population increase and food shortage, is considered ideal today may consist of the parents and two children. There are advantages and disadvantages of being member of a large family. Growing up in a large family may develop in one discipline and a feeling for the others - qualities that are desirable for good citizenship. Food and other consumer items will not be sufficient and the members will learn to share things fairly and forego little things that may not be indispensable. Everyone in the family will have his share of domestic chores to do and what he does and the problems of his parents, often train for life; when he too will set up his own home. Thus the children in a large family are likely to grow up as responsible adults conscious of the needs and desires of others. A large family will be a lively family and life at home will never be dull. There will he many to talk to and discuss with. A problem that is brought by one will be shared by all others. When one is in distress, one can be assured of warmth and affection. Every member is a distinct individual and hence the views of the different members on a subject under discussion will be different. What an opportunity to see a problem from different angles! The interests of the children will be different and life would be one of variety. There are disadvantages too. When parents raise a large family, and are unable to discipline them, their children will become noisy, quarrelsome and vindictive. The father or mother can cause a rift in the family just by showing partiality. Some parents, unable to discipline their children, resort to excessive punishment which only serves to alienate the children further. These are some of the reasons which family planning associations state to show that a large family is disadvantageous. Members of a large family may be denied the benefits of higher education. In a competitive society, children who are denied proper education. may be unsuccessful and the chances are that they would be bitter and disappointed. The helplessness of the parents and their poor financial position may have an adverse effect on the children. The children may be denied the luxuries. Bereft of parental care, children may resort to evil ways and become social liabilities. The bitterness they develop as children will influence their attitudes and they may fail in life. In the past, when more children meant more hands on the farm, it was advisable to raise large families. Times have changed and soon a large family will become an anachronism. Today our attitudes have changed and those who are conscious of the harsh realities of life are aware of the disadvantages of a large family.