Discuss on the views whether homework should be given or not?

Home work is part and parcel of every student's life. It is helpful in developing overall knowledge to students but too much of it can be detrimental. It should be like a fun activity which students should enjoy. It is also advised to not provide a new topic in homework which they might feel tough and resulting in lesser interest. Student friendly topics should be given. Most work should be completed within 20 minutes and not more than that this helps in increasing enthusiasm in children and they will get interest in doing more work even if it is not given. I have some instances to exemplify it. One day my maths teacher gave us a lot of homework which was around 100 pages. It was the day before exam so it led us all to just complete the work and we were left with no time to prepare in my teacher views it might be preparation but it is not like that because we were writing it like a dump and we were not thinking it logically which is the main basis for maths to learn. All students were frightened and resulted in no body doing the homework even if somebody did that was not actually him. My friend did it with the help of his sister she did his work. So what is the use? Nothing. In the result only I passed with full marks beacuse i was too good at maths and others not even scored 50 percent even though I passed I was not able to complete work and has somewhat made my preparation complicated. Even the bright students are effected. So what I feel is homework are important but it should not be heavy that they have to lose their childhood because extra curriculum is as important as studies. Teachers should teach them in a fascinating way if it is done then there is no need of homework.