Discuss negative effects of TV on children

It is a well-known fact that TV plays a significant role in human life in today’s modern world. Almost all people watch TV in order to have a good time, learn about the world and increase their general knowledge. Therefore, TV has become an indispensable part of modern life. However, there are also some negative effects of TV on people, especially children. Experts studying in the field of psychology agree that children who spend too much time watching TV are likely to suffer from some health problems such as obesity and they also tend to show aggressive behaviour. To begin with, children who watch TV frequently and for long hours may face serious health risks such as obesity. Without any doubt, some TV programs are so attractive that most children become addicted to these programs, so they spend an excessive amount of time in front of the TV screen. Naturally, when they get hungry or thirsty, they eat in front of the TV, because they do not wish to miss the program. If this lifestyle continues for a long time, most of these children will eventually become obese. For instance, some studies show that many TV programs like cartoons and TV series lead many children to develop obesity-related health problems. In short, it is obvious that there is a strong correlation between long hours of watching TV and obesity. Another negative impact of watching too much TV on children is that they resort to violence in order to solve their problems. It is an undeniable fact that many TV programs, particularly movies, are full of violence and crime. Children who watch such programs see that the people on TV, both the good and the bad guys, resort to violence so as to solve their problems. Thus, children who imitate the fictional characters on TV think that resorting to violence is an acceptable way to solve their problems and they have a tendency to exhibit aggressive and violent behaviours. To illustrate, it is possible to read some news about children committing a crime due to the fact that they are influenced by the characters of Kurtlar Vadisi, which is a violent TV series. In brief, it is clear that some TV programs have a great impact on the violent behaviours of some children. Consequently, it is not possible to protect children from obesity and violence if they constantly watch violent TV programs. Nevertheless, parents should monitor the programs their children watch. Otherwise, TV can also be a bad and harmful teacher. www. ageofenglish. com Sample Essay -2 Discuss the causes of Depression Nowadays, almost all people encounter a variety of problems in their daily lives. Although some individuals can easily overcome these problems, it may be rather difficult for others to achieve this. In such cases, these individuals are likely to suffer various psychological problems, among which depression stands out as the most serious one. Many experts in the field of psychology claim that a great number of factors cause depression. Economic problems, busy working life and stressful city life are considered to be the most prevalent causes of depression. To begin with, it is clear that economic problems bring about an increase in the number of people who are depressed. Everybody has to work in order to meet their basic needs. Nevertheless, in recent years, economic crises have damaged many companies all around the world. As a natural result of this, many employers have laid off their workers. These unemployed people are likely to encounter serious financial problems. If they cannot find a job in a short period of time, they tend to suffer from depression, because they cannot meet their needs and solve their problems. In brief, financial problems play a significant role in increasing the number of people with depression. Apart from economic problems, depression can also stem from a busy professional life and the stress of big cities. More and more people prefer to live in urban areas due to better job opportunities. However, there is another side of the coin. Compared to rural areas, the people working in big cities are expected to work for longer hours and they face severe competition. In addition to these, they have to deal with some environmental problems such as air, noise and water pollution. Shortly, when all these factors accumulate, people tend to develop depression. All in all, as mentioned above there has been a tremendous increase in the number of people who are depressed all around the world, particularly in urban regions. The main reasons can be regarded as economic problems and living in big cities. While some people can get over these hard times by themselves, some others are not able to do that. I am of the opinion that these people should receive professional help instead of trying to solve these problems on their own.