In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

In many parts of the world there is an increased tendency for doing overtime. I strongly believe that this is a negative development and i will emphasize why this phenomenon occurs. Firstly, when it comes to spending too much time at work, a significant role is played by the cultural influence. That is to say, if the majority of employees choose to work extra hours due to increased workload, it will become an unwritten rule for all to stay and do the same. A good illustration of this it could be seen in Japan, where this is a common practice in many companies. As a result the suicide rate increased and birth rate decreased significantly. Secondly, paying the debts could be considered another good reason for overworking. Furthermore, taking into consideration that some people have to provide for their families is another important aspect worth to mention. Recent studies have shown that, more than half of the world population earn salaries which cover only their rent and debts and they are forced to find a second job or to work extra hours in order to cover all monthly expenses. Although this phenomenon may be a common habit some individuals as a consequence of social pressure or a desire for a better lifestyle, i believe it might be a real danger for our health. On the long run, an imbalanced lifestyle will lead to chronic diseases and it will be hard to repair the damage created. Some minor conditions which are noticed at 90% of office staff are varicose veins and posture problems. In conclusion, there are important reasons for which individual choose to do overtime but this habit should not be encouraged by employers. Not only is this a practice which destroy our relationships, but also it affects our health in a negative way.