Discuss advantages and disadvantages of free education.

Although the birth of the idea of free education and healthcare dates back to the early 20th century and is a very known practice around the globe, it still remains as one of highly debatable topics during the 2020 US elections. Majority would agree that along with freedom of speech, democratic elections, and access to Internet, people require free education and medical care. Personally, I share these believes and think that since all citizens pay taxes, the government should cover these services as well. A universal or free healthcare funded by the government would allow to lower the prices on healthcare services and medications, since authorities would be interested to pay less and negotiate a favorable price with pharmaceutical companies and hospitals. Moreover, it would allow to decrease the cost of social payment in future, since the workforce of the country would be healthier. A famous American comedian once made a joke, that if we knew the cost of the surgery to remove his appendix in advance, he would never have done it again. The US, who self-proclaims itself as the biggest economy and army in the world, also takes up the first place for a student debt and drug prices. For instance, the price of insulin is five times more expensive than in Canada and Europe. The amount of taxes accumulated by the state should be spent on the development of individuals rather than serving state interests. The most obvious plus of free college system is that the nation will become more educated. Thus in future citizens will be able to start their own business and create additional work places. By investing in education, the government prepares the future generation of engineers, scientists, and doctors who will later devise new technologies, find a vaccine, or make the production of goods more lucrative. In Finland, where all universities are free of charge, the level of unemployment is the lowest in Europe, consequently, people are not interested in illegal activities. We live in the world where an income is never equally distributed among people. Therefore, If there would be only one reason to justify the existence of a state it would its role to make an every effort to create equal starting point for all. In order to so a free education and healthcare should be categorized as human rights