Disavantage of non-verbal conversation in English

Nonverbal behavior plays an essential role in communicating due to its benefits. However, body language can not be free from the disadvantages in a number of areas. Individuals will encounter with the dissimilarities of meaning in various cultures, as well as the limitations in public situations and long conversation. First, one of the ubiquitous issues that people run into when using body language is the misunderstanding in various cultures. Although nonverbal communication is universal phenomenon, meanings of these cues are not the same. Eye contact is an example of misapprehension when individuals communicate to others in variety of countries. In many Asian cultures, avoiding eye contact is seen as a sign of respect. However, those in Latin and North America consider eye contact vital for conveying equality among individuals. In Ghana, if a young child looks an adult in the eye, it is considered an act of defiance. Another cue exemplifying this situation is gestures. Gestures can convey wildly various meanings. Individuals in the United States use the “OK” sign to convey that something is acceptable. On the contrary, in Japan, the same hand symbol means “money. ” Argentinians, Belgians, the French and the Portuguese all use the symbol to mean “zero” or “nothing. ” Still other countries in Eastern Europe consider that same sign an offensive swear. Clearly, typical signals that people use every day cause major misunderstandings depending on where and how they are used. Next, the second disadvantage is its limitations, especially in long conversations and in public. In fact, non-verbal expression is used at the same time with verbal communication, it is not popular to exercise and maybe all the listeners do not prefer such means of communication. In long conversations such as discussions, debates, formal speeches. . , non-verbal cues cannot express the particular issues of the messages. People can easily mislead others by using some symbols that don’t match with their mental status. Therefore, the vital messages in long conversations may be missed and distorted. It is also not good when the difference in message can lead to negativity and offensiveness. All in all, cultural differences and inconvenience in public environment or long conversations are primarily barriers in non-verbal behavior. In order to solve these problems, individuals should learn non- verbal of other cultures, or combine both verbal and non-verbal in communication to obtain effective transmission.