Directors in organisations receive higher salaries than the ordinary worker. Some people think it is necessary while others think it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your own opinions

It is a fact that bosses and top executives earn a substantially larger salary than other employee. They are also rewarded with better pay rises and bonuses. It can be argued that they deserve this money due to the fact that their role is considered to be more difficult yet this may not always be the case. There is strong evidence to support the assertion that a huge salary attracts talented individuals. The level of income offered creates healthy competition and encourages possible management employees to try to reach their full potential. It also ensures that only the most qualified people apply for certain positions. Clearly the effort and intelligence needed to obtain the appropriate qualifications should be reflected in a person’s wages. In a similar manner however, consistent good work must be recognised irrespective of an employee’s position with financial incentives such as bonuses. Conversely, a large salary or bonus does not necessarily mean that a manager or director is worthy of it. There are many examples in which an individual holds a high position due only to family connections. In the global market, such examples of nepotism do not help to further a company’s success. More importantly this could cause dissatisfaction amongst staff and reduce productivity in general. In order to ensure fairness and a more equal form of encouragement, a maximum wage should be established. This would stop extravagant and unwarranted salaries and pay rises being paid to managers and directors who have not ‘earned’ it. It also supports the idea that a large company does not succeed only because of its management. All employees within a big corporation have a important role and this should be rewarded equally. To summarise, money is a powerful motivator. In order to use this tool properly, limits must be imposed on large companies to ensure that all staff members feel their work is rewarded appropriately. This would ultimately lead to an environment in which all talent is met with the same response.