Direct Selling Campaigns that have been succesful in the past.

Personal selling is a marketing communication channel that involves a face to face involvement with the customer. The companies use people that make up their sales force to sell their products or services to the consumers directly. This involves direct communication between the two parties regarding the product offered by the company whose aim is to convince the customer to buy it. Personal selling is used in many businesses though it can be expensive as the company has to hire people to sell their product to more people. Personal selling can be found being done at car dealerships, jewellery stores, Apple stores, etc. A great example of a successful personal selling methodology is the one used by McDonald’s. McDonald's staff are trained to engage in a conversation with their customers and let them know about all the options they have on the menu. Whenever a customer orders a cheeseburger, the cashier asks the customer if he or she wants to buy French fries and a Coca-Cola with it. This is an excellent marketing technique because the customers do usually give in and add a bunch of sides to their order thus increasing sales of McDonald’s. These incremental sales do wonders in helping them boost their bottom line and contributed to their more than $28 million in revenue the company made last year. (Godard Abel, 2015) One of the biggest “direct selling" companies is Amway. It was founded in 1959 in Ada, Michigan. It makes household products and supplements. Amway has 2. 5 million independent distributors around the world. These distributors used direct selling techniques and go door to door, person to person to sell Amway Products. Direct selling involves salespeople showing and demonstrating products to obtain orders. The objective involves matching consumer needs with the product. The better the match, the more lasting the potential for the relationship between the seller and the buyer. (Business Case Studies, 2019) As a result, Amway has been ranked Worlds #1 direct selling company with total sales of $8. 4 billion in 2019. (Amway Global, 2020) Overall, with all these successful direct selling campaigns from giant companies, one clear benefit that sticks out is attention to the customer. There is two-way communication between the buyer and the seller. Customer needs are attended on an individual level and also the selling party can generate sales by informing customers about new products that they were unaware about. So, Customer awareness is another advantage of direct selling. Though marketing communication channel costs a lot to implement, it does directly reap benefits in a company’s sales and business success.