Differences between living in a dormitory and home

Most students who are about to go to college, are faced with the problem of either staying at home or living in the dormitory. They think that living away from family will be good for them. While some students benefit from dormitory life by having wonderful experiences, for others the situation is the opposite. Both opinions have their own pros and cons. In fact, there are also some aspects that they resemble. There are noticeable differences between the two places such as being financially friendly and distractions. Depending on your relationship with your parents, they are likely to allow you to live with them at home. Living at home during college can allow you to save up and eventually get your own apartment. This shows that living in home has more benefits than the other option. Dormitory is also different from your home in limiting distractions around you. Being at home during college means that you will have a quieter place to study and fewer temptations to go out and hang out with your friends. Their social life offers differ notably from each other. Living at home during college will prevent you from attending on-campus events, but it can also limit your chances to connect with other people and make new friends throughout college. From this point of view, campus life provides a more social environment for the student than home. Another important difference is feeling homesick when you leave your home. Living at home is in many ways more comfortable than the other option and for many people, it is more reassuring to stay with their family in their own home. For this reason, house is the more preferred option. Although the differences are very contrast, dormitory life and boarding house life still have some similarities. Students living in both accommodations have to obey some rules. For instance, students mostly are not allowed to use the room to celebrate a party at a certain time, also there exists some terminology call “closing time”, if students going out and do not notice the time, consequently, they must stay outside the whole night. Another similarity is that when living far away from parents, students must be independent. They have to manage their life, control their thoughts because no one will be around and take care of them, no more little advice which they are hearing every day such as take a bath, do not skip the meal and study harder. Overall, although there are contrasts between home and dormitory life in terms of financially, socially, focusing, and being homesick; there are also many similarities. Whether students choose to live in a dorm or life in a house, they need to think twice. They have to obey some regulations, pay for the rent if necessary and must be independent.