Development in technology causes environmental problems. Some people believe that solution for these problems is that everyone should accept a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems.

Emerging trends in the technological resources have revolutionized individual’s life to greater extent. However, these often lead to various environmental problems. Many believe that the solution is to adapt to a minimalist lifestyle while other deem that technology itself can eradicate such demerits. I opine that this is a matter to be debated in lights of various other factors before a reasonable conclusion can be drawn. Certainly, applied science proves to be a boon in many a case. Firstly, recent innovations in the electricity production sector paved up new paths for an environment friendly future such as solar and wind power for commercial as well as personal use. According to The Hindu, around 23% of Delhi people were interested in installing solar panels on their houses in 2018, which ultimately leads to reduce in the use of fossil fuels and pollution. Also, with digitalization, not only the paperwork but also the Currency is replaced by their virtual counterparts up to some extent. Hence, use of paper has been cut off which slowed down the deforestation rate. On the contrary, adapting a simpler lifestyle brings many positive developments in the society, the prime one being getting rid of throw away culture. To explain, for the sake of saving time, people often purchase a new item instead of repairing their current ones but bringing a change in public’s mindset will definitely hinder this trend. Moreover, keeping in mind the fact that with less demand of new products, factories will be forced to slow down their production it would be logical to assume that the issue of industrial waste will also be curbed. To conclude, I firmly believe that although there are many repercussions related with technology yet with careful handling, it can be a cure for many already existing complications.