Describe an important lesson that you've learned and how it has helped you throughout your life. Use specific details and examples to support your answer.

Improving the health of the people has become a major discussion in today’s world as people’s life expectancy has increased. Although some think it is the responsibility of the government to improve the health of its citizens, others think the individual should take control of their physical condition. This essay will discuss both the views and explain why I think it should be the individual liability to maintain one’s health. The government could implement plans and policies to encourage or enforce certain behaviour on its people. In addition, its policies could be implemented across the country covering all segments of the population. For example, special tax incentives could be provided for people who meet the development goal set by them. Furthermore, the resource needed to implement its policy is already available to them. For instance, the government healthcare workers could be used to implement and monitor the health goals. Since their policies have tremendous impact on people some think it is government’s to improve the health of the citizens. Even though the government could offer encouraging plans the responsibility entirely lies with the individuals. It is their body and it’s the best interest for them to improve the health. Individual’s health requirement and preference are best known to them and cannot be categorized as a standard plan by any organization. For instance, people’s preference and priority vary, some would need a strict diet control, whereas others might need physical activity or a nice place to walk. Since individual requirement and preferences varies it should be their responsibility to develop a healthy lifestyle and thereby a healthy body. In conclusion and in my opinion, the government can offer incentives, but cannot strictly enforce plans to improve everyone’s health. It should completely be the individual’s responsibility to improve their health. Moreover the need and preference are best known only to them.