Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Since ancient times, animals have been used to make food, clothes and some types of medicines. But along with the modern life development, some people consider that animals are no longer as important as in the past in terms of product manufacturing. However, I disagree with it and believe that they are still essential and irreplaceable in some production activities. Admittedly, many people deem that since an increasing number of new materials are appearing in the world, it is no longer necessary to use animals to meet certain human needs. Notably, many of these animals are dealt with in an inhumane way: try to think, it takes three minks to make one mink coat, and therefore, how ruthless it would be if we make hundreds of coats. Actually, some new artificial materials can outperform animals regarding costs and functions. For example, artificial mink fur costs only half of real fur and it is also reported that they are warmer than the real one. With respect to drug production, most use of animal organs to cure diseases lacks scientific approval, thus incredible, so more faith should be infused in herbal medicine and modern pharmaceuticals and more experiments should be conducted on them, rather than on animals. Nevertheless, there is no doubt that animals have always been an indispensable food source for human beings, such as chickens, fish, cows, and pigs. It is infeasible to keep humans from eating meat since this is a deep-rooted tradition throughout human history. Also, meat can provide distinctive nutrients for our body and health; for example, some proteins can only be acquired from animals and they are of great value to our immune system. Therefore, it is reasonable that over the years, a vegetarian style of life causes considerable controversy. From my personal perspective, I do think that animals indispensably facilitate a better life for humans, especially in the food sector. But in clothes and medicine industry, animals should be spared because technology has offered us other choices.