Deforestation caused by human activity is happening in many parts of the world, with serious results for the environment. What do you think can be done to solve this problem?

Cutting down trees from a large area is still highly practiced by humans, globally. This will give severe damage to the environment, such as climate change and animals extinctions. In my opinion, there are many possible means in general, to inhibit the harm of deforestation. It will involve various stakeholders; including government officials, companies, and most importantly, the citizens themselves. The government officials have to be fully aware of the danger of deforestation; therefore, this will make them serious and strict when implementing some policies or programs that intended to protect the natural world. The policies and programs they could make are varied; they can give higher tax for logging, strengthen illegal logging supervision, reinforce corruption laws, and increase public awareness to protect the environment. If the authority can practice their plans perfectly, then companies will have no choice but to obey. In the case for the citizens, we can protect the environment by keeping track of how the authority works. Are the policies that they assembled environment-friendly? Are the policies being implemented fairly? This kind of questions needs to be asked. The citizens may also contribute by starting from small things such as consuming less, recycling, using paper bags or planting trees at home. As I am currently working in a non-profit organization that focuses on climate change, I am quite familiar with this subject. There are already many organizations and people from various backgrounds who are concerned about this matter and have done their best to solve it. Nevertheless, their work can only reach a small area. We understand that the government plays a crucial role, but what they do currently have not fully taken sides to the natural world. Overall, there are many ways to defend the natural world. However, it will require cooperation and collaboration from each element of the society.