Dashain as festival of Nepal

Dashain festival is one of the greatest festivals in Nepal. It is celebrated with great joy and jubilation. Dashain is celebrated by the Hindu followers all over Nepal. It is the festival that brings happiness and delivers the message of unity among people. This festival signifies unity, the victory of truth, and the inception of happiness. Dashain generally falls in Nepali Month Aswin( September ) lasts for 10 days. Each day has special rituals and activities to be performed. The festival starts from Ghatasthapana and ends at Vijaya Dashami. On Ghatasthapana, people sow rice and barley seeds on the pious corner of their house to grow seedlings called Jamara. JamaraJamaraThe first nine days of the festival are popularly called Navaratri. The goddess Durga is worshipped during this period. The 7th day is known as Fulpati and on this day Jamara is brought to the Hanuman Dhoka, Kathmandu from the Gorkha Durbar with the help of the priest. From Fulpati (8th day) until the 9th day, people sacrifice goats, ducks, buffaloes, and other birds & animals to the Goddess Durga. They worship the image of the Goddess Durga, some even visit temples. They do so wishing her blessing for power and prosperity. The main day of the Tika ie. the 10th day is called Vijaya Dashami.