Dams Hydropower dams are massive concrete walls placed inside rivers or streams to hold back water. Holes in the dam allow controlled amounts of water to pass through and as it moves through these holes, it passes through a machine, which converts that mo

Reading and lecture is about advantages of hydropower dams to generate electricity. Article posits that construction of hydropower dam will be an efficient option to provide power to large number of houses, while lecture claims that construction of dams can lead to numerous drawbacks that he explained in this following essay: Firstly, article states that dams can produce artificial lakes which serve as a habitat for numerous marine creatures, recreational area for the nearby residents and irrigate dry land for agriculture. Lecture casts doubt on this statement made in reading. He thinks that water needs to be forcefully diverted back to the ocean in the process to form energy, that force of water might destroy the reproductive cycles of the marine creatures and kill their larvae. In addition, frequent floods in vicinity land can cause destruction of dense vegetation. Secondly, reading implies that since hydropower is natural source of energy, atmosphere will be least likely to be polluted as compared to other traditional non-renewable source of energy. In contrast, lecturer put forth that this hydropower dams emit methane gas in gas during the conversion process that is very harmful for atmosphere as it exacerbates global warming. Thirdly, author thinks hydropower dams might generate exorbitant earning for the owners because they provide electricity and water for agriculture. In contrary, lecture witnesses that frequent water run off might force people living nearby migrate to different places. To overcome this problem government might impose high taxes to residents to pay for residents' relocation and other expenses. As a result, this is not economically feasible option.