Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is true that riding a bicycle is clearly a better way to protect the environment than other types of vehicles. Although there are certain reasons behind its unpopularity, both governments and individuals could do various actions to make it become a potential trend in years to come. To begin with, there are some underlying causes which have led to the abovementioned situation. Firstly, cycling is often thought to be a huge waste of time when modern life is getting much busier. Therefore, city dwellers prefer to commute by motorbikes, cars, or public transportation which would take less time. Another explanation might be using bicycles require more physically demanding, especially in bad weather condition or for long-distance travel. As a result, bike riders would choose to leave their bikes at home and opt for another more convenient method of travel. Nevertheless, a number of immediate and long-term solutions can be taken so as to increase the usage of bicycles. Firstly, the government could provide public bikes in some large metropolitan areas. In fact, bike rental systems are being offered in some countries and it is also free of charge for a few first hours. Therefore, it would encourage their citizens to cycle more frequently or tourists to explore famous places by bikes in lieu of other means of transportation. Apart from this, creating dedicated bike lanes in cities would be an essential action. It is evident that, nowadays, urban roads are full of motor vehicles which discourages people from choosing a bike. In this way, cyclists would have the motivation to biking without the fear of traffic congestion or transport accidents on overcrowded roads. In conclusion, there are some reasons why bicycles are becoming less common these days, and numerous measures could be implemented to promote people using this eco-friendly riding option.