Countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours.

Economy plays an indispensable role in a country's development. A recent trend demonstrates that in some of the countries there has been an increase in work hours for employees and, as a result, that nation's economy has improved; however, it has negative repercussions too. Every coin has two sides. An advancement in the economy implies a rise in job opportunities, subsequently, unemployment rate will also decline. Working more hours will also give an employee a better pay satisfaction. If a person sees their colleagues working arduously for more hours, then they will be encouraged to work too, eventually, it will also assist in the development of the corporation. All that glitters is not gold. Increase in work time has disadvantages too. It might lead to decrease in a worker's productivity and create a toxic work environment. People should look forward to going to work every day and this will do exactly the opposite for them. Mental well-being is equally vital as our physical well-being. It will affect an individual's mental health and consequently will lead to a burnout. Humans will feel burdensome, lazy and they will start procrastinating their prominent duties as well. Apart from the reasons mentioned above, they will also get less time to spend with their loved ones. Although prolonged working hours is for the betterment of a nation, in the long run, it doesn't seem to be an attractive choice. The government of the country and corporations should see to it that a balance is established between both, a person's professional and their personal life.