Countries around the world will be facing significant challenges relating not only to the environment, but population and education as well. What problems will your country face in the next ten years? How can these problems be overcome?

The rapid expansion of population and its secondary effects on the environment and national education have challenged many countries around the world. Being no exception, Vietnam is encountering similar dilemmas. This essay will delve into the threefold challenges that Vietnam will face in the next decade and suggest possible solutions for each. First of all, the overwhelming growth of national population has caused many negative effects. It significantly increases the demand for workforce capacity, especially in the health care sector to serve an exponentially growing population. The phenomenon also challenges the authorities with issues stemming from the evolving need for housing and the welfare of citizens. Remedial actions to contain overpopulation can involve government incentives in family planning or consideration of the one-child legislation that has been precedently employed by China. Secondly, as a result of the population expansion, the environment is acutely affected. To exemplify, our society’s enormous consumption leads to the proliferation of rubbish. In addition to that existing damage, the increasing need for housing or industrialisation secondary to population growth reduces open space lands and cause further crippling impacts on the ecosystem. In order to solve this dilemma, the authorities should make more meaningful investments in recycling to reduce trash overproduction. In addition, enclosed areas can be designated only for industrial infrastructure (facilities and structures) to reduce its invasion into surrounding residential area or the green space. Lastly, education also demands more skilled labour and even distribution of workers across all parts of the country. The disparity in the number of teachers and educational facilities in the cities and rural areas results in many children in less developed areas do not have equal access to education. This can be solved by developing regulatory policies and compensations that motivate workers, not only teachers but doctors, engineers to relocate and fulfill the essential needs in the areas suffering from such shortages. To recapitulate, there are challenges that Vietnam will have to overcome in the next decade that are related to the overpopulation and its secondary effect on the environment and other social factors such as education. Possible solutions have been suggested but indeed require a great deal of nationwide effort.