Countries around the world require more and more energy every year for domestic and industrial use. What are the causes of this excessive energy consumption, and how does it affect the environment?

. An increasing concern for many countries around the world is energy use. The causes of this phenomenon are varied and have led to numerous effects on the environment. This essay will outline the reasons why excessive energy consumption is occurring, and discuss the results it can have on the world. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why the increase in the consumption of energy is happening. The primary cause, without doubt, is the population explosion. For example, in 1900, the world population was estimated to be 1. 6 billion, but today there are more than 7 billion people in the world. The more people there are, the higher the energy requirements will be. Another cause of the growth in energy use is industrialization and the technological revolution. For example, factories use large machines to do the jobs that people used to do, and modern households have a wide range of energy-consuming electronic devices, including mobile phones, water heaters, and washing machines. Perhaps the most serious consequence that the increase in energy consumption has caused is global warming. The burning of fossil fuels leads to an increase in the levels of carbon emissions in the atmosphere, which causes the temperature of the atmosphere to rise. The result of this is rising sea levels, extreme weather, and desertification, which in turn leads to many species of fauna and flora losing their habitat, and being threatened with extinction. One way to solve this issue would be for the governments all around the world to work together to reduce the burning of fossil fuels by investing in renewable energy. If we continue to sweep this problem under the carpet, future generations will need to deal with the consequences.