Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

As the global trend toward globalism and the use of a lingua franca grows, local languages continue to perish. I think although a smaller number of languages can make life easier, it is important to try and preserve all languages. (40 words) On the one hand, when fewer languages are in use, communication tends to become easier in most cases. It will be really convenient if one can talk with others from various parts of the world without the need for a live translator or special software for assistance. This means that different nations around the globe are likely to be able to cooperate more closely if fewer languages are in use. For instance, a conference at the United Nations will be more convenient and productive for politicians if they all can communicate using a limited set of languages, or perhaps even one, instead of having to wait for translations to come through. Consequently, better results are likely to be achieved more quickly, and many issues could be resolved as a result of better mutual understanding. (134 words) On the other hand, every language represents the culture within which it has developed. It reflects the lifestyle and traditions of the people who use it to communicate within the context of their daily lives, and it is the foundation of their folklore and literature. Although some might argue that these could be translated into more common languages like English or Chinese, it is quite unlikely that the exact meaning of each phrase, expression, idiom, proverb or poem can be translated. This means that once a nations’ language has died out, a significant portion of its culture and history is lost with it, leaving them with a weaker cultural and national identity. (112 words) In conclusion, I believe even though the fall in the number of languages in use allows people to communicate more conveniently, making their lives less complicated, it is still important for every language to be saved from extinction so that the culture, history and literature of all nations are protected.