Consumer Society in the modern day

It is indisputable that there is a problem. The situation has gotten into a circle: If too much food is bought by the consumers, then energy and resources are needed to deal with the leftovers - means food which has gone out of date and cannot be consumed any more. As a consequence of that, if people have to throw away some uneatable food, they buy a new one. So again more energy and resources have to be utilised for food production. Food which will be thrown away to large extend at the end of the day. The result is that the economy and the environment is kept busy with dealing with surpluses of food which no-one needs. While it may be good for economy as more money in circling and more people got jobs in food manufacturing, transports, landfills and recycling sector, it is certainly not good for the environment. There is no one simple answer to the question why people waste food. The topic is slightly more complex and the answer depends on several factors such as age, geography or cultural aspects, just to name a few. While it may be more clear why people living in rural areas overbuy food because they cannot precisely estimate how much they are going to need over a week or so ahead and prefer to have rather too much than too less, it is rather only a matter of convenience why people living in cities overbuy too. For many it may be too inconvenient to go to a convenient shop once they fancy something to eat which they don’t have at home. The consequence of that is that too much is bought and wasted. Cultural-related reason why food ends up in a dumpster is also that some home hosts in some countries or regions are so hospitable that they want always too have some extra food in case of any unexpected visitors. In particular in countries where people tend to visit others frequently for eating together. In order to improve the situation, at first I would not focus on the mitigations action such as food camera presented in the video because it tries only to reduce the negative impact of food which was over bought. I would rather focus on the root cause of why food is over bought by people. The more people do more rational / reasonable shopping, the less unconsumed food has to be thrown away at the end. Also combo offers such as buy 1 get 2, driven by the willingness to increase the sales, lead to the situation that more is taken home than actually needed. Also, if the food was of more quality, then it would be more expensive. If so, people would perhaps think twice before placing the items in the shopping trolley. Not to mention that the better food quality would be with benefits for the health. If food had better quality, it would not have such a long shelf life of several weeks of even months as it is now and if so, consumer would also buy more adequate quantities of fresh food, with no pesticides, and only this what they know they are going to eat. Summing up, to reduce the amount of wasted food, a holistic approach is needed and the problem should be tacked from several angles. Having said that, since there is too many business reasons behind, amount of wasted food is unlikely to get reduced short term.