Advantages and disadvantages of having a pet

These days, there has been a common trend for people to nourish pets. However, this phenomenon has both pros and cons, which will be analyzed in the following essay. On the one hand, most pet owners might put up with the two biggest drawbacks. Initially, one of the most common drawbacks of having pets is allergy. For example, the pet’s fur can make the owner get a cough or rash. This drawback can lead to adverse problems for their health. In addition, another negative effect of this issue is financial problems, every animal will require people to pay for basic veterinary care to have a healthy and fulfilled life. Hence, nourishing pets can be a luxurious hobby for low-income people. On the other hand, adopting pets has brought at least three significant benefits. To start with, having a pet is also a powerful way to keep people mentally functional. Research has proven that the company of a dog or a cat keeps psychological problems such as depression away. Not only health problems but also everyday anxiety and stress can be decreased by spending time with their pets. Another factor to consider is receiving love and joy. This is because pets usually have ways to help their owners out of slumps or play their heartstrings in a way that no one else can. Last but not least, one of the most crucial benefits of adopting pets is personal safety. Many people raise a barking dog to scare away most home invaders or medium to large-sized dogs on late-night walks. Moreover, pets can alert their owners to approaching dangers like fire or gas leaks. In conclusion, owning a pet has both pros and cons but if the owners are aware of their responsibility, the animals can bring huge benefits to them.