Consumer Durables in Britain

Data collected in Britain illustrates the percentage of consumer durables which are possessed in the households from 1972 to 1983. In general, it can be inferred that television is the most popular electronic device throughout this period. In 1972, the number of households having television reached 93%. Following in the second place was vacuum cleaner with 5% gap below television. Central heating was the least popular one with only 30% of households owning this device. Not until 1978 was the dishwasher owned in the houses with only 3%. Meanwhile, the others electronic goods showed an upward trend up to 1978, indicating that more people were used to being assisted by technology. In 1983, almost all households owned a television as a mean of entertainment in their houses with the figure reaching 98%. Refrigerated came as the 2nd most-owned device then followed by washing machine with 94% and 88% respectively. In this year also marked the first appearance of video game device which was owned in 18% of the households.