Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages, therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language.

Nowadays, it is easy to translate languages by using online translation tools. Some people think that it is unnecessary to learn a foreign language. I strongly disagree with this argument. To begin with, language is the root of culture and national identity. It reflects the characteristics of a nation. Korean is a significant example. There are two forms of Korean – polite form and plain form. Polite form is used to communicate with senior people or older people while plain form is used to communicate with the people who are younger than you. It shows that Korea is a hierarchical society. If we use translation software to communicate with Korean, it may cause misunderstanding. The software cannot detect what situation you are in. So, it proves that it is useful to learn a language. We can understand the culture and shorten the distance with foreigners. Nevertheless, critics argues that translation tools are enough for leisure use and basic business communication. Normally, it works well in a simple sentence and vocabularies. When it comes to a more complex and difficult sentence, it may translate inaccurately. Sometimes it can be funny. However, there is not funny about making mistakes on business document translation. The cooperation probably ends because of these mistakes. Therefore, learning a language is useful in business and leisure situation. To sum up, although learning a foreign culture uses a lot of time and money, it brings many positive impacts. We can connect with foreigners easily and strengthen the business and social relationship.