The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030, it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over.

Many developed countries have been seeing a continuous decrease in their birth rate and an increase in older population. As such, it is predicted that by 2030, over one third of the human population will be aged 65 years and over in the next 50 years. This essay will tackle the disturbing effects of the aging population, as well as the solutions that can be done to address this situation. The growth of human population has been vital in the progress of the world's economy, particularly the contribution of younger generation. However, nations like Australia, Canada, and USA have been facing a decline in birth rates due to the career-oriented mindset of young professionals where their jobs are more important that raising a family. Hence, this can have a damaging effect to the society. Firstly, studies have shown that in the next years, majority of the baby boomer generation will retire from the workplace. As a result, there will be shortages in human resource to fill in jobs that are left by older generation. Secondly, aging population will mean an increase in homecare for older people. This will lead to higher demand in health care facilities and health professionals such as nurses and caregivers. Lastly, a decrease in birth rate means an increase in mortality rates which is not ideal for any countries who want their economy to continuously grow. This problem can be dealt with through possible solutions such as financial assistance by the government that will be provided to young parents, as well as to single parents, as a support in raising their children and encouraging parents to have larger families. In addition, developed countries can also implement an open immigration policy to foreign citizens who wished to migrate to first world countries to give better future for their family. For example, countries like Canada and Australia are inviting other foreign talents to migrate in their countries and offer them permanent residency together with their families. Citizens aged 65 years and over will dominate the population by the year 2030, and will continue to do so for the next 50 years. Progressive countries must start to address the aging population issue through many policies that can help curve the fall of birth rates in the coming years.   Otherwise, if this will not be taken seriously, the effect of this will have to toll in the society, especially for the younger generation.