Compared to previous generations, an increasing number of people are traveling overseas for holidays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern life, more people take trips overseas for pleasure compared to the past. This tendency is increasing all around the globe. The following paragraphs are going to explain the major advantages and disadvantages of the rising trend. One of the clearest advantages here is that it gives people the opportunity to experience different cultures and customs, giving a broader perspective of the world. By visiting other countries, people become more understanding and tolerant of other cultures, and can learn to appreciate the cultural differences that exist. There are also benefits for the holiday itself, as many people tend to holiday in destinations that have better weather. For example, citizens of countries where the number of sunny hours is limited can rip benefit from abundance of sunshine in hot countries enriching their body with vitamin D. However, there are disadvantages for the country, as citizens are spending their money overseas rather than in the domestic market. By taking holiday at home, people can not only economize in their budget but also play a role in the development of tourism in their own country. However, this is negated by the fact that although people leave their own country for a holiday, other people visit their country for the same reason. In New Zealand, for example, money spent overseas by people leaving the country is replaced by those who visit the country for their holiday. To conclude, ubiquitous advances in technology have given the consumer more choice in overseas holidays. Although there are negative ramifications of people’s having their holidays in foreign countries, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.