Compare High school and University

INTRODUCTION The hook: After high school graduation, the newly graduated students often worry about learning in university and finding the method of effective studying. Background information: At the beginning, they set up the list of question that they want to know and then they compare the university’s information with high school’s information. Thesis statement: The reason why they do it is to find out the similarities and the difference between university and high school. Some information is often compared such as community characteristic; study environment; extracurricular activities; learning methods. BODY PARAGRAPH I. Similar Category: The same community characteristic. Both university and high school are the communities where the students learn and connect with each other. Supporting detail: They are not only learning from the teacher and the lessons in their class but also learn from their friend. This community can help students increase the spirit of interaction; supporting with each other and develop the skill of working together. II. Difference Category 1: Learning methods. * In high school: The teacher at high school works as the person who guide your studying directly. Supporting detail: In the class, you learn followed by the teacher’s curriculum. It is like a fixed form for everyone. The advantage is to help students save time to researching but the disadvantage is to limit the student’s ability to create. * At the university: The teacher works as the partner who guides your studying indirectly. Supporting detail: All of the students are received the curriculum from which the student must find the information. If they can’t find the information or don’t understand it, the teacher will help you solve this issue. This method helps develop the skill of researching for students despite of spending more time to learn. Category 2: Study environment (A number of student) * In high school, A high school class has fewer students than a university class Supporting detail: The maximum number of students in a class is about 40 to 50 people. It helps the teacher can guide all of the student in a class and manage them more easily. * At the university, A university class has more students than a high school class. Supporting detail: Because of paying attention to self-study ability so the teacher doesn’t have to manage students. Instead of management, they create a community in the class where students can freely discuss together. Category 3: extracurricular activities At university, The students have more opportunity to take part in some clubs than in high school. Supporting detail: One of the university’s intentions is to tend the students to working with a group and having more social experimentation except studying. Clubs come out to help students do that. CONCLUSION Summarise the main points: University and high school has different, yet alike. Restate the thesis: Going to university, the student will have not only some familiar things like friends, community characteristics but also new experiments such as learning methods, study environment and extracurricular activities. Make a final comment: University is like the next way after graduating from high school, I believe that it is a milestone in your life for you to become more mature.