Compare doctors and firefighters

Do you think that doctors are the same to firefighters? Everyone usually answers no, because they say that doctors need to study well, while firefighters need a good physical health. Some people answer yes, since their working purpose is assisting people. Others hesitate between yes and no, as doctors and firefighters are both important jobs. For me, these two jobs have both similarities and differences. One obvious similarity is the aim of these two jobs. Doctors and firefighters are trained to save people. Doctors save people by their academic knowledge. It is certain that people will call doctors in case there is an emergency, while firefighters use their strength to rescue people from a dangerous situation, for example, in a fire. Likewise, work atmosphere of both these jobs are quite pressured. It is believed that doctors and firefighters are asked to take action promptly and properly without having time for thinking. In spite of these similarities, these two apparently alike jobs have some opposite things. The first difference is opportunities for promotion. It is supposed that doctors may have more chances to enlarge their knowledge and gain more achievements in their job; in contrast, it seems impossible for firefighters. Other area of difference between these two jobs is salary. Beside monthly salary, doctors can earn money by opening private clinics and being paid for extra working time. A final difference is occupational hazard. Whereas firefighters have to face a lot of dangers or even worse they may be burnt, doctors work in hospitals, diagnose and cure patients. In conclusion, doctors and firefighters are both the same and different. Although these two ones are good jobs and have similar aim as well as workplace atmosphere, firefighters are not equal for salary and opportunities for promotion; moreover, they have to work in many dangerous circumstances. It is significant that the government not only prize for brave firefighters, but also raise their monthly paid.