Compare and Contrast Theme of Aging

In "To an Athlete Dying Young, " "Nothing Gold Can Stay, " and "When You Are Old, ” readers can see the similarities in youth and ageing between these three poems. Youth is a great and special time in a person’s life. In “To an Athlete Dying Young, " the speaker congratulates the athlete for dying before his fame wasted away since death in youth can preserve the flawless image in the memories. In comparison, “Nothing Gold Can Stay” also illustrates the youth throughout the line “Nature first green is gold. ” Gold represents youth and innocence, which is the most beautiful moment in life. In "When You Are Old, ” people will come to regret people who loved them deeply and miss youth- a memorable time. Besides, all three poems show that things will change when time passes. When the character in "To an Athlete Dying Young" win the race, he is brought home in “shoulder-high”. Nevertheless, the second “Shoulder-high we bring you home” means he is being carried in his coffin. To compare, the line “Her hardest hue to hold” in "Nothing Gold Can Stay" means nature is constantly changing from time to time. The character in "When You Are Old” is old and “grey and full asleep”, which is different from the past. These similarities can be seen throughout all three poems. However, these poems still have some differences in opinion of youth and age. In "To an Athlete Dying Young, ” youth can stay forever in a person’s life if they die young and age cannot impact the glory of a person. The line “And the name died before the man” means the athlete should be thankful that he died before people forgot his name. Therefore, his image can still be flawless in their memories although he dies young. The poem also shows that age cannot impact the glory of a person. People will still remember the winning day of the athlete in the future as well as his glory and achievement. In contrast, in "Nothing Gold Can Stay, " youth can never stay. It is clearly shown through the last line “Nothing gold can stay”. The speaker views youth cannot stay forever, and it is short-lived. As a result, the poem also wants to say that everyone will come of age as time passes. However, the idea of youth and age in "When You Are Old” is different from other poems. People will regret youth when they are old is clearly illustrated throughout the whole poem. Two lines “And bending down beside the glowing bars, / Murmur, a little sadly, how Love fled” best illustrates that people will regret rejecting those who loved them from the bottom of their heart. Therefore, they regret their youth. Throughout the three poems, we can see three different opinions about youth and age.