Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

Since the advent of technology, a vast amount of companies are spending their wealth on advertising their product on various websites, magazines and news channels. Most individuals especially teenagers come in their trap and end up spending their parents incentives on unusable things. This essay will shed light on pros and cons of promotion of the interest of consumers. In the first phase, due to surge in advertisements a lot of people want to upgrade their mobile phones, cars and other commodities. Consequently, businesses get plentiful number of costumers as a result of which they need to employee people to serve them. There are numerous benefits due to all this such as there are tons of jobs available in the market, and as consumers are buying various products world economy is also growing. Last but not the least, since the past few centuries there has been an unprecedented rise in products through which the world is becoming advanced day by day. For instance, there are multiple modes of transportation available via air planes are available for covering long distance within a short span of time and for land self driving car is convenient for those who have some physical disability. On the contrary, everyone ends up buying things they do not even require in their daily lives. For example, every teenager desires to get a new product available in the market to show their status symbol, and if they are unable to get the same they start participating in numerous bad activities such as furtiveness which has long term drawback for both the society and the individual too. To conclude, considering the aforementioned points, though posting an advertisements have positive effects as it give rise in nation’s wealth, it also has some detrimental effects on individuals which push them to do inadequate activities.