Classical Music For Students

It is becoming less and less common for students to both listen to and play classical music. In my opinion, this is the result of changing tastes and it should be countered by concerned parents when possible. The reason fewer young people today opt to listen to or take up playing classical music is that there are other, more modern options. In the past, classical music helped students gain entrance into elite universities and was a potential career path. This is still true but to a lesser extent as the diversification of musical styles and the growth of the music industry now allows students to develop skills with music more suited to their particular preferences. A young person today is more likely to want to learn the drums to play in a rock group or practice rapping. This applies to listening habits as well and is reflected in the dominance of pop music. Regardless, it is still advisable for parents to instill a love of classical music and encourage playing an instrument. First of all, appreciating classical music requires greater mental engagement and patience than other popular genres. In an era of shorter attention spans and immediate gratification, a love of complex melodies can serve as a counter-balance. Secondly, the benefits of playing an instrument are self-evident. Decades of substantial research support the claims that it aids cognitive development generally and one’s creativity more specifically. This is apart from the discipline one must develop through years of intensive practice. In conclusion, though it is natural younger people today opt for more popular genres, there is great value in sustaining an interest in classical music. It is therefore up to parents to gently encourage such a pursuit.