Choose one strategy for asking for a salary rise Which is more effective and why Summarize the article discuss the best strategy and reasons to support it 510 words

Asking for a salary raise might be an easy task for some people, for others instead might be more challenging than it seems. It is very important for every employee to know how to deal with this situation so he/she could benefit of the best opportunities. The article evokes a gender related issue when it comes to negotiate a raise and also, the best strategies for approaching this dilemma at work. The studies show that women are slightly discriminated without intention in many cases, when they ask for a raise. The reasons for this problem could be multiple, such as improper way of acting, not sufficiently feminine or being too fragile while trying to adapt to some standards. Consequently, the article discusses some strategies needed to be adopted by women and men in order to obtain the raise the want from their manager: groundwork, fact-finding, negotiate in person, specific language or outside offers just to remind a few of them. My opinion is that the best strategy to obtain a raise is to negotiate in person for a few reasons such as the employee could adapt her/his request by the reaction of the leader, the request is taken into consideration rapidly or he/she could be more persuasive while talking face to face with the manager. ( I stopped here after 30 min). First, negotiating in person could help the employee to adapt himself/herself by the manager’s reaction. Formulating the raise request from the employer’s perspective is for sure, a good advice too. For instance, if the person feels the employer’s attitude is not the expected one, he/she could reformulate the wish is such way that both parties gain something. When asking for a raise, the employee should be prepared for a compromise or for dropping some of the formulated requests if the person is not well documented with arguments. Moreover, negotiating face to face with the manager could enable the request to be taken into consideration rapidly. As a consequence, the raise might be received as soon as possible. For instance, if a person would send the raise request by email, this action might be interpreted as cold, hard or direct and the request might be interpreted as a demand from the employee. So, this is not a good strategy in approaching a salary raise. Finally, a person could be more convincing when negotiating directly with the manager. A face to face approaching helps the employer to see in the employee a self-confident person. By using this method, the one who ask for a raise could judge accurately and consequently, could obtain exactly what is formulated in the request. For example, my spouse always knows how to deal with this situation and he always gets what he wants by discussing face to face with the employer and by using an adequate body and verbal language. He knows how to be diplomatic and I personally admire him for this quality. To summarize, a good strategy always helps to obtain a salary raise and we all should improve our manner of asking for it.