Children's leisure activities should always be educational because they may have too much to learn before they become adults.

In today's competitive world we live in, parents seem to be much more worried about their offspring than in the past. Some advocate that their fun space should have a more educational focus rather than simply playing. Although parenting has started following this trend, I personally tend to disagree with the concept, and the reasons will be covered in this essay. Firstly, childhood is only a quarter period of a person's life. That is the time when we can explore the world. So, prioritizing studies during that time will have detrimental effects on the growing age. Moreover, children acquire cognitive and social skills through play. For example, they will be able to develop sustained attention through play as they enjoy it more. Also, learning is not necessarily through books. For instance, Children learn vocabulary through context than from books. Additionally, the trend shows academic emphasis has become increasingly growing, which has counteractive effects. To elaborate, many students in the UK are reluctant readers. A recent survey has witnessed that 90% of them were forced to concentrate on studies since childhood. There is no scientific research that suggests studying even in the free time helps in overall development; moreover, evidence shows the reverse is true. In fact, Finland ranked 6th best in the world in reading though their primary classes are completely play-oriented. To conclude, it is evident that everyone gets leisure space at a young age. Involving the young more into academics does not help in any way. Hence, no one should miss the fun of discovering nature unconditionally.