Children today play very violent games.This must be the reason for the increase in violence and crime in most major cities of the world. What are your opinion on this?

Video games are the favourite leisure activity of all age groups. These days young children prefer to play video games that are violent in content. I agree with the stance that the rise in violence and crime rate observed in urban cities of the world might be one of the effects caused by these video games. Some of the underlying reasons for my opinion will be discussed in this essay. The contents of the video games are fascinating which resembles real-life scenarios but lack practical social rules and promotes killing, abusing the opponent in the game. When children continuously experience such situations virtually they may get addicted to similar attitudes and forget social responsibility. Additionally, the abundant availability of online games that are not rated by gaming board authorities is a cause of concern. Stringent regulations can prevent and educate the parents and children before opting for a video game. Furthermore, adults should provide proper guidance to children to choose video games. It would be great if parents play along with the child during family time to understand the content of the game. Not only guide them to choose content but also help them to organise time to spend playing video games. Because these games are addictive and can be played limitless. Individual studies show that young children on average spend more than two hours on video games. In addition to the responsibility of parents, stringent rules should be imposed by cyber agencies on these gaming sites which can enforce them to modify the content of the video games. To conclude, video games promote violent behaviour in children. From the points enlisted above, the content of the games and the time children engage with these games, influence the disruptive behaviour of the child. I believe that video games do play a role in the alarming rise of crime and violence in the growing cities of the world.