Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

Recently more and more children have become addicted to TV programs, as a result, they have spent less and less time outdoors. It has become possible due to the huge number of easily accessible channels as well as the variety of kids' targeted programs. Though there are several strategies to increase the activity level of children, and some of them will be discussed further. The main reason why kids spend such a significant amount of hours watching TV is that television has become more accessible and the number of TV programs, that target children have increased. Nowadays hundreds of channels are available for viewing through cable, the internet, or even satellite. Also, there a lot of options for kids to choose from, such as entertaining TV shows, cartoons, anime. For example, years ago a lot of parents used to tell their children not to spend the whole day in front of the TV and it left no choice but to spend some time outdoors. Things have changed since that time and modern kids could easily take a smartphone and watch any show on it. However, doing something creative or interesting should be proposed to children to motivate them to be more active. A lot of different activities to suit different tastes are available in the modern world. It could be ice- or roller- skating, going to a pool to swim or making toys or anything else as long as it is not boring for the kid. Besides, many diverse children's hobby clubs are available on the market. For instance, if the kids are interested in horses, the parent can simply enroll them in a riding club. To conclude, children spend much time watching TV because of the easy access to numerous channels and amount of entertaining shows. Nevertheless, to keep children being more active they could join a hobby club or do sports that are interesting to them.