Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today.

Nowadays, juveniles devote the majority of time watching their favourite TV shows, or cartoons. However, few factions of the society believe that the TV will never supersede books as a knowledge enhancement tool owing to which children have insufficient literacy skills today. I strongly agree with the notion and shall elucidate my views in the following essay. First and foremost, the books are bombarded with a plethora of information. Hence, although the television acts as a primary source of entertainment for numerous offsprings and teenagers, it does not facilitate in-depth chapters and the stories that assists the child in attaining the relevant data alike theoretical knowledge. For instance, a child, who aims to become a doctor, can never qualify the medical entrance exam just by watching a TV series and improper theoretical guidance. Moreover, the books help children to focus that is quite unusual in the case of television. This is because the hearing and watching ability at the same time breaks the juvenile's focus towards the primary topic. Indeed, books are silent tools that aid to increase their reading power enabling them to focus on a specific subject. For instance, a survey in the Oxford University, which is one of the top educational institutes, revealed that 78% of the kids were inclined towards the books to gain knowledge rather than TV as they found it to be a peaceful mode of study, and the TV sound acted as an impediment to focus hard. To conclude, the argument that TV's can be supplemented with books certainly does not hold water. Needless to say, books are an indispensable source of information. They not only consist of massive amount of data, but also allows the child to highly concentrate.