Children have to be punished to learn the difference between right and wrong. What sort of punishments should parents be able to give their children?

It is generally claimed that parents must punish their children in order to learn how to choose wrong and right in today's complex society. Personally, I partially agree and disagree with this point of view for some reasons. To my view, there should not be a special punishment that is given to kids by their parents. There is no doubt true that parents are compelled to teach their children do's and don'ts so that they are the most responsible people for kids. To certain point, I agree that children are supposed to be punished for something they did wrong. Of course, they need to be warned for this beforehand, however, if they continue doing this again, then parents must punish them. On the other hand, I disagree for some exceptional reasons. Everyone knows that drug addiction brings a disastrous life together to human beings. For example, if a teenager hangs out with someone who uses drugs, in this regard, parents do not have to punish him or her. It is because children might be agressive in this case, and they can run away from the house. Therefore, parents have to be near them to explain or illustrate others' life that how dangerous drugs are. From my perspective, humans have to let their offspring experience whatever they are doing. To put it simply, parents need to allow their children to choose wrong or right by themselves. They have to know what kinds of thing or behaviour are wrong or right. Only in this case, we will understand the gap between wrong and right. For instance, if an infant touches the fireplace, we should allow him or her to touch it because she or he will understand that it is dangerous while touching it. Besides that, there is not one-in-all solution for all children, in other words, each children has different personal characteristics. That is why, a punishment could not possibly work for everyone. To conclude, sometimes I agree and disagree with the point of punishing children to learn the disparity between wrong and right. And I am inclined to believe that no type of punishment can be useful for all children, there might be someone who needs punishment to avoid doing wrong, or there may be some children who needs a reasonable explanation to deviate from wrong things.