CHILDREN CAN LEARN EFFECTIVELY BY WATCHING TELEVISION. THEREFORE THEY SHOULD BE ENCOURAGED TO WATCH TV REGULARLY AT HOME AND AT SCHOOL.

It is often considered that television has a powerful impact on young generation. Some people argue that their children can learn a lot of things efficiently fromTV. Thus they believe, encouraging children to watch television on a daily basis both at school and home is a good idea. I strongly agree with this point of view, as I believe that this kind of media can help a child to a great extent. Firstly, in today’s competitive world television can dramatically enhance the intellectual level of a child. Being an auditory and visual media, television can easily attract children and fine-tune (sharpen) their concentration which in turn helps them grow academically. For instance, children that have hyperactivity disorders with a low concentration span, can learn concepts in an interactive ways if they see and hear things at the same time. Therefore, television can be an effective teaching tool if used productively. Secondly, television can reduce the effort of a real teacher in making the students understand ideas in a creative way. Educational audios and videos take the role of a mentor very effectively in most of the cases. It is considered to be much more economical and an easier way to teach students if the overall student population is high in an institution. For example, a student learning about botany might find a science documentary more interesting than reading from a text book. However, moderation of television time for young children is key to avoid any long term harmful effects. Moreover overuse can lead to a variety of health issues such as vision impairments. To conclude, television helps to enhance children’s knowledge and drastically reduce the workload of teachers in an academic setting. I share the opinion that children should be encouraged to watch television productively.