Children are the purest gifts that the natural mother

Children are the purest gifts that the natural mother has given to us. To value children, people around the world celebrate many holidays for kids such as The International’s Children Day held on the first day of June. In VietNam, there is also an important occasion only for Vietnamese children called Mid-Autumn Festival. The festival occurs on the fifteenth day of August every year in the Lunar calendar. It is the time for parents to play and catch up with their kids after having hands full with work. In this celebration, parents often excitedly tell “The moon man and his banian tree” story to their kids as the origin of the day, and Vietnamese children need to light up the road with beautiful lanterns for the return of the moon man to the Earth. Besides, parents also take their kids out and enjoy the festival with relatives, friends, or neighbors. This occasion is a good day to help bring people together as well as strengthen love among different generations. On this special day, Vietnamese people have to carefully prepare for it. Four things that are essential for preparing for the occasion are fruits, mooncakes, lanterns, and lion dances. People tend to use seasonal fruits such as bananas, grapes, apples, mangos, logan fruits to create a Five-fruit Tray, and so on, worship the God of Earth with mooncakes and snacks during the night. Besides traditional mooncakes, new variations with different crust and cake filled have been created to make them more delicious as well as do not become obsolete. Mid-Autumn Festival always occurs at the beginning of the first semester of school, so children can receive many lucky wishes from family members for a coming study year. On those days, lion dancing teams will stand in front of the house and ask for dancing in the yard, which is believed to bring luck and fortune for the house owner. These lion dances are fascinating, and huge numbers of children, ranging from little kids to teenagers, participate in this activity. As a result of having so many groups of children marching around, the streets of the cities echo with the sound of drums, as dozens of lions roam about. In conclusion, the Mid-Autumn Festival plays an important role in Vietnamese culture because it expresses a certain beauty in the beliefs of citizens in this country. Over thousands of years, the ancestor of the Vietnamese tried their best to preserve this celebration despite many difficulties throughout history. Hence, the young generations have the responsibility to maintain this to be a long-lasting tradition of VietNam.