Children are less active than they were in the past. Therefore, sport lessons should be compulsory.

Over the last few decades, children are getting less and less active in their free time then they used to, and because of this, some suggested that making sports lessons should be mandatory at school, of which I partly agree with. On the upper hand, the governments would ought to waste a large portion of money on medical services to these unfit people, which could be seen in a staggering 80% of children being too fat or too thin in the US. Furthermore, physical activities improve young lings both mentally and physically, since they won't have any friends or strength without spending time together. Moreover, playing games together is a lesson about discipline, thus these young lings needs to learn about teamwork as well. In contrast, there are some downsides with this. For example, PE means more sport facilities, so not every school can afford to do that. To add up with that, spending too many time going outside will consume students lots of valuable study time, which is even worse with those who don't adore playing sports. In addition, computers, televisions, with many other entertaining services are also factors that cause the inactivity in this group of people, so limiting their time at these is also an alternative solution. To sum up, making sports lessons compulsory has some excellent benefits, but there're some holding them back, so I don't think this is the best idea in my opinion