Children are generally more successful in foreign language studies than adults. Thus, it is better to learn languages in childhood. Do you agree or disagree?

Learning foreign languages during childhood rather than choosing to study during adulthood is still a topic of discussion. Some people believe that younger people studying languages of foreign countries will succeed, while there are others with the notion that only adults can learn the language thoroughly. I’m inclined towards the viewpoint that school children tend to be more successful in mastering new languages. This essay will discuss why the kindergartens are succeeding in learning unfamiliar languages. A part of the community accepts the notion that only adults are able to acquire any foreign language. There are a few reasons for this belief. The most significant reason is that children when they grow up will be of sufficient knowledge and are capable of understanding what they are learning. This capability aids them in learning the language in and out that eventually makes them achieve their goal of learning a new language intensively. However, a major disadvantage associated with this trend is that they do not get enough time to spend in learning a new language, because of their academic responsibilities. On the other hand, there are people who admit the fact that only offsprings could possibly learn a foreign language on the whole. The primary reason for this belief is that they are malleable and can easily adapt to the new language. Toddlers are children who can be easily influenced by the thoughts and ideas of others. This serves a great reason for them to learn foreign languages at a very young age. In addition, their schedules are flexible and they have ample of time to spend in extra-curricular activities. My nephew, for instance, created a record of learning three different languages at the age of 10, which is seldom possible after teenage. To end this discussion, there are both merits and demerits associated with the trend of learning foreign languages during adulthood rather than childhood. However, it is evident from the essay that the advantages of mastering an unfamiliar language at an younger age outweighs the merits associated with the latter belief. Therefore, I strongly advocate that to gain expertise in a second language, one must learn it at their childhood.