Children and behaviour Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behaviour.

Many people are in favour of their country hosting a global sporting competition such as the World Cup or Olympics. Conversely, it is often argued that it is more problematic than beneficial to organise a competitive multinational event. This essay will examine both points of view and will state that sporting occasions bring more positive aspects to a host country. On the one hand, an increasing number of people do not want their country to hold a global sporting event because of the economic implications. This is because these events require a huge financial outlay and the benefits of this investment are not spread equally throughout society. Take the Rio Olympics, for instance, when the government greatly exceeded its budget and then required taxpayers to contribute more to fill the deficit. If Brazil had not hosted the Olympics, they could have invested significant funds in healthcare or education which would have enhanced the lives of the wider population. Despite the issues related to major sporting competitions, they can create positive social changes. One of the key ways this can happen is related to the improvement of sporting facilities which can help reduce the obesity epidemic. When applying for the Olympics in 2012, London had to prove their future investment into grassroots sports facilities and build sustainable venues which have created a long-term legacy. Six years later, British people are more active and stadiums are still in use or have been repurposed. Another important factor is these events can improve diplomatic relations which were epitomised by the Winter Olympics in South Korea. The event helped reduce tension in the region especially when South and North Korea competed for the first time under one flag. To sum up, while there are undoubtedly certain countries who have greater priorities than hosting a sporting event, generally, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. These include improving fitness levels of the general population, building or improving sporting facilities and creating harmony in the world.