child should be given money week by parents,

When money is lost, nothing is lost; when health is lost, something is lost; when character is lost, all is lost. Character building takes place in the early years of life. I personally feel that parents should focus more on value based development of their child rather than provide them with a weekly stipend. It has been observed that handling finances early in life is more likely to have an adverse effect, contrary to what this topic says. Hence, I strongly disagree with it. In most households, parents provide for all the demands of the child. Be it the school fee, clothing, food or other expenditures. The parents make all efforts to fulfil their children's demands and desires. Children are too young to distinguish between what is good or bad for them. Today in our materialistic lives money can buy almost everything. A child getting pocket money every week is more likely to pick up bad habits which can ruin his or her life. I, for example had a very happy childhood. I never got extra money. Yet, I derived happiness from the simple things in life, friends, games, eating home cooked healthy food and leading a carefree childhood. Only when a child grows up and learns to work hard and earn money, does he or she realise how to spend it. A youngster with easy access to money will surely not value it and will waste it. There is also a likelihood that the child gets into bad company and picks up habits like eating unhealthy food and worse, get into things like smoking, drinking and drugs. These vices are easily accessible today and can have an adverse effect on the child's mental, physical and social development. Therefore, I feel that the disadvantages of giving money to children on a weekly basic outweigh the advantages.