Cheaper food is now available because of greater use of fertilizers and improved machinery. This improved production, however, can be harmful to individuals and the community. with this view? Discuss, including examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Some people adhere to the view that fertilizers and innovative machinery are the primary factors in producing more affordable food products.  Additionally, they think that through the use of fertilizers, agricultural crops can be provided with enormous essential nutrients like nitrogen.  This is to make the crops grow bigger, faster and more productive.  However, I completely disagree with the abovementioned idea, because such a method can be a threat to the health and safety of humanity.  The reason behind this is the fact that vast use of fertilizers can cause the release of some harmful greenhouse gases into the atmosphere and the eutrophication of waterways. To begin with, soil conditioners are comprised of substances and chemicals like methane,  carbon dioxide,  ammonia and nitrogen.  The emission of these has tremendously contributed to the volume of greenhouse gases available in the atmosphere.  For instance,  nitrogen in fertilizers can be transformed by some soil microorganisms into nitrogen-containing gas.  Following this is its release into the air, in the form of a greenhouse gas nitrous oxide.  This hazardous gas has a warming potential way greater than carbon dioxide.  In short, although the agricultural industry necessitates the use of fertilizer to its soils,  additional nitrogen in the atmosphere can be detrimental.  Whence, agriculturists should balance the positive benefits of nitrogen fertilization with the negative consequences of the excess amount. Furthermore, when commercial fertilizers enter the surface water, microorganism growth is stimulated by the released nutrients.  Eventually, the growth and reproduction of the microorganisms will cause a reduction in the oxygen content of the waterbody.  To illustrate, with the insufficient oxygen in surface water, aquatic species like fish suffocate.  Following that, the resulting dead species deteriorate the water quality,  destroy economically significant fisheries and risk community health.  Hence, eutrophication should be promptly intervened, to prevent further impairment of several freshwaters and coastal marine ecosystems in the world. In conclusion, when nutrients and other pollutants associated with fertilizers are mismanaged,  humans and the ecosystems can be adversely affected.  Therefore, I believe that if administered accordingly,  fertilizers can benefit crop production without causing environmental problems.