CFS is a vital report that illustrates the money inflow and outflow of a business, dividing between operating, investing and financing activities to project the current liquidity of the company

CFS is a vital report that illustrates the money inflow and outflow of a business, dividing between operating, investing and financing activities to project the current liquidity of the company. Therefore, it provides users with an overall picture of the business’s cash management (Robinson et al. 2012). CFS is based upon the cash basis of accounting (receipts/transfers of cash and cash equivalents). In operating activities, BC’s net cash inflow increased by $37. 4 million from $100. 3 to $137. 7 million in 2020 particularly due to the improvement in the working capital and net profit after tax (pg. 31). On a positive note, investing activities recorded a reduction of outflow of $52. 6 million, mainly from the new plant at Koroit and the new ERP system (pg. 31), compared to the outflow of $322. 9 million in 2019 (pg. 43). This change is mainly caused by fewer outflows on non-current assets. With financing activities, due to borrowings and the issue of shares reduction, there is a rapid drop in the net cash for this section in 2020 at -$91. 0 million. As a result, the total cash and cash equivalents section witnessed a drop from $28. 8 million to $22. 9 million in 2020 (pg. 43). However, a portion of this decrease was spent in upgrading the new plant and system which will increase efficiency in the future, hence BC can still be attractive to investors.