Certoin peopre believe fhot the only wdy fo reduce crime is senlencing criminols for longer lime periods, while olhers believe ollernolive mefhods should be used lo lower crirnes. Discuss bolh views ond give your opinion.

There are many different opinions on the best way to reduce crime. Some people say that long term prison is the only way to curb crime, whereas others say that education, vocational training and rehabilitation are better. This essay intends to analyse both perspectives. There are many arguments given by those who advocate longer terms in prison to combat crime. They say that there are criminals who are a risk to the society, such as murderers. They cannot be made to mix with society. There are also mentally insane people such as serial killers who should be kept away from the people. lf such criminals are set free soon, they will reoffend and so should be in penitentiaries for longer terms. On the other hand, there are many convincing arguments given by those against long term imprisonment. Firstly, in traditional prisons, petty criminals learn a lot about crime, and so when they leave prison they commit even more crime. ln other words prisons act as universities of crime. So petty offenders like shoplifters and pickpockets should be given some vocational training and education. lt is a well-known fact that the basic causes of crime are poverty, illiteracy and unemployment. So, if we provide education and job training, then we would be removing the causes of crime. lf criminals are rehabilitated by some form of employment, then they would certainly not re-offend. Furthermore, the prisons are expensive to maintain. The government can spend that money on other important matters such as education and healthcare. This would ease some burden off the government's shoulders. The petty and minor criminals can also be employed in some community service projects after providing education and vocational training. Summing up, we should hate the crime and not the criminal. To fight crime we should focus on the causes of crime. Education and job training help to rehabilitate the criminals. Longer terms in prison are not the answer to fight crime. Focus should be on reforming the criminals.