cellular technology in education

Cellular technology has radically transformed the way we experience the world. Now, it is re- shaping the way we learn. M-learning is a new buzz word in the academic world with educators contemplating how to harness smartphone technology as an educational tool to engage learners. There are numerous advantages of integrating smartphones as an educational tool. Audio and video features of smartphones can add a fun flavour to classroom learning while catering to both auditory and visual learners. Educational apps like Evernote make note-taking an interesting tech-savvy task rather than a mundane activity. Additionally, apps like Zoom aid distance learning. Furthermore, teachers can get creative with how they assess their students by using interactive quizzes and games to encourage healthy playful competition among students. Social media apps can help students share their learning with their parents, teachers and peers. Using mobile phones as an educational tool gives real-world context to classroom learning. Today’s students have grown up in a digital world with personal hand-held devices therefore it is imperative to teach them how to productively use these gadgets for learning purposes. In addition, sharing notes electronically is an eco-friendly sustainable practice. On the downside, smartphones with a wide array of applications vying for the student’s attention can easily distract students from their learning goals. Yet another downside of the use of smartphones is cyberbullying which is often extra difficult to stumble on than bullying inside college premises. Similarly, cybercrime poses an imminent risk if cell phones are used as an educational tool. Although smartphones provide easy access to information the credibility of the source is often difficult to decipher. Moreover, use of mobile devices for learning can result in social isolation as students learn through screens rather than interacting and debating topics with their classmates. Additionally, excess cell phone usage can result in eye strain. To summarize, M-learning offers an array of exciting opportunities to advance learning but simultaneously poses some challenges for educators. In my opinion, the focus should shift from whether to use cell phones as an educational tool to how best to use them while safeguarding against the risks involved