Causes of school violence

There are two main causes that contribute to violent behavior among students in the school environment. Domestic violence is one of the sources why children have a tendency to solve problems with violence instead of handling situations positively. Children tend to repeat the behaviors of their parents; therefore, if a child lives in a family in which parents often quarrel or even fight, they will behave the same with their classmates. Indeed, according to the Ministry of Education’s statistics, more than 1, 000 cases of school violence occurred nationwide in just a scholastic year; it is worth noting that most of the perpetrators witnessed domestic violence from a young age. The rapid development of society is also another factor in violence in schools. In more detail, the growing internet network makes it easier for students to access videos, violent games, or social networks without being controlled by their families. Consequently, children's perceptions will be profoundly affected; children will have wrong behaviors and attitudes such as bullying their friends or being aggressive when solving problems. A typical example that shows the seriousness of school violence is a 13-years-old Vietnamese student who attacked a classmate with a knife because of a small conflict on the social network. In brief, the cause of school violence comes not only from the family side but also from rapid modernization.