Causes and Effects of Narcissism

Narcissus was a hunter in Greek mythology who was known for his beauty. He fell in love with his own reflection in the pool which leads to his death. His name later became the name of a flower and a word defining a personality of priding with oneself, Narcissism. The general traits of Narcissists are that they think they are better than other people and deserve special treatments. Psychologists categorized Narcissism into two types of personality: Grandiose and Vulnerable Narcissism, which are caused by a number of reasons. Grandiose Narcissism, a more common kind of Narcissism, is characterized by high self-esteem, extroversion and seeking of authority and attention. Non-Narcissistic people are generally doing their jobs for various reasons such as helping other people or trying to reach their full potential. Grandiose Narcissists, however, only pursue for their own power and spotlight without taking consideration for their fellows or colleges. Researchers also found that this kind of people have a problem in empathy causing them to become more selfish. Narcissists of this kind can go aggressive against criticism and reject the suggestions, which disrupt self-improvement. On the other hand, Vulnerable Narcissists can be quiet and reserved. This type of Narcissist can appear as an introvert and a low self-esteem person. They usually have a strong sense of entitlement and belief they deserve privileges. In spite of being a self-centered person, a Vulnerable Narcissist is easily threatened and slighted by constructive feedback. They often build an extreme feeling of disappointment and envy when they did not get what they wanted or when someone else received a better treatment than them. Moreover, people who have Vulnerable Narcissism personalities have a strong desire for acceptance and admiration causing them to act carelessly in order to be admired. Narcissism can be contributed by many factors. Many studies show that it has a strong genetic component, although it is still unknown which gene is involved. Environment also affects the incidence rate of Narcissism. Parents who over praise their children can influence the Grandiose Narcissism, while a cold and controlled parenting fosters Vulnerable Narcissism. Furthermore, it seems that Narcissism is rising in cultures that value individuality and self-promotion. Although there is no clear evidence, many researchers believe that social media increases a number of Narcissists by providing a tool for Narcissists to seek social status and recognition. As a consequence of genes and environment, people can become Grandiose or Vulnerable Narcissists, which are the two different kinds of Narcissism personality but they can also share some similar traits. For instance, being self-centered, craving for attention and getting frustrated when disappointed. Narcissism has negative effects on both themselves and people around them. Apart from this, it can develop into a more severe Narcissism Personality Disorder or NPD that is required to see a professional psychologist. Even though this personality might look very dangerous and harmful, it is possible for a Narcissist to get rid of those negative traits by being honest with reflection on their behaviors and caring for others.