cause of drugs abuse among teenager

Drugs abuse amongst teenagers has been a worldwide concern for many decades. The percentage of drug use in teens has increased over the years. Teen drug abuse can occur for many reasons, some of which are low self-esteem, family problems, and peer pressure. Firstly, Teens often begin using drugs because of low self-esteem. When they enter adolescence, they are sensitive about everything around them, or maybe they want to be an influencer in their group friend. Moreover, at those ages, they usually have lots of anxiety about themselves, for instance, feeling like a useless person, and they think using drugs can make them feel more powerful, and the drugs can help them deal with it. Secondly, many teenagers are taking drugs due to family problems. In some families which parents are always busy working, they don't have time to pay attention to their children's needs, or they may not be aware of the warning signs that their children show. Thus, their children can use drugs and not be controlled or banned by them. Besides, if a family has a member who is a drug abuser teenagers will be influenced. Last but not least, the major cause of teenager’s drugs abuse is peer pressure. Much has been said about peer pressure and how it makes teens conform to what their peers are doing. Young people take drugs to feel cool and impress their friends. If your friends all smoke, you will expect to smoke it too. They may tell you that you scare or act like a baby if you don't want to use it. Besides, teenagers want to reduce the depression which they have in their school time, so they use drugs to stop worrying about school work and make themselves feel better. Although the reasons for using drugs may differ with every teen and drug, most teens still abuse drugs for some same reasons like low self-esteem, family problems, and peer pressure. The best way to stop teens from using and abusing drugs is to address all these causes.